Possession or use of a prohibited firearm is an offence punishable under the Criminal Code 1924 (refer s. 9 (1A) of the Firearms Act 1996).

Prohibited firearms are described in Schedule 1 of the Firearms Act 1996, as follows:

  1. Any machine gun, submachine gun or other firearm capable of propelling projectiles in rapid succession during one pressure of the trigger.
  2. Any self-loading rim-fire rifle.
  3. Any self-loading centre-fire rifle.
  4. Any self-loading shotgun.
  5. Any pump action shotgun.
  6. Any firearm that substantially duplicates in appearance a firearm referred to in item 1.
  7. Any firearm to which there is attached any article or device capable of muffling, reducing or stopping the noise created by firing the firearm.
  8. A pistol that is of a reduced or an abridged size.
  9. Any firearm or part of a firearm which has a dimension less than the prescribed minimum dimension.
  10. A prohibited pistol.
  11. Any ex-military firearm that is a firearm in relation to which a firearm licence may not be issued.
  12. Any ordnance.

A person may not possess or use a firearm of the kind described in Schedule 1, unless its possession or use is otherwise expressly provided for within Firearms Act 1996.